For mom

Image ImageThis is my dog, Jaijai (meaning ‘Son’ in Cantonese). Both pictures are done in acrylics and for my mom. I gave the first one to her on mother’s day in 2009 I guess? That’s why he’s got a carnation on his head. It was difficult drawing secretly without mom knowing, since I wanted this to be a surprise. She was so happy when I gave this to her, I had felt so embarrassed and glad at that time.
The second one is requested by mom, done in 2011. Its awesome comparing your old pictures with your new ones, seeing improvement in your work really gives you an urge to work even harder. Great thing about art is you keep improving, you might get stuck and art blocks sometimes but you are definitely getting better each time.
Looking at these two pictures together also reminds me the fact that Jaijai is getting older, he’s 12 now. I hope he’ll stay healthy and happy. It pains me to just think about him leaving us someday, but I guess that’s something you have to accept about pets, that in most cases, they would leave sooner than you. But I don’t ever regret having Jaijai, I’m glad to have him ,for being my great friend and family member.


Leave a comment